Monday-Friday: 9 AM – 7 PM
Saturday: 8 AM – 4 PM
Perry County Public Library
289 Black Gold Blvd.
Hazard, KY 41701
The Perry County Public Library is pleased to offer library patrons the ability to download e-Books through Kentucky Libraries Unbound, a consortium of Kentucky Public Libraries powered by OverDrive. Perry County Public Library card holders can check out and download e-Books anytime, anywhere through OverDrive at no charge.
EBSCOHOST is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers including Searchasaurus, Footnote History and Genealogy Archives, and Consumer Health Complete.
Universal Class – Knowledge is power. Why not learn something new today? Universal Class offers hundreds of online classes taught by dedicated instructors sharing their knowledge on almost any imaginable topic.
NewsBank – With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Scholastic Teachables offers printable activities for any subject: math, science, reading comprehension, STEM, writing, and beyond. Download printable lesson plans, reading passages, games and puzzles, clip art, bulletin board ideas, and skills sheets for students at any grade level. To get started, contact the Perry County Public Library for login information.
Check out the brochure HERE!
Hazard Herald – For nearly a century, The Hazard Herald has been publishing an issue each week, striving to make the community it embraces a better place with news and updates from around the region.
Lexington Herald-Leader Search more than 35 years of Kentucky history with the Lexington Herald-Leader Collection. Coverage from 1983 through today, including full-text, web-only content and full-color image edition.
Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Kentucky Virtual Library – Open seven days a week, 24 hours a day, the Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) is dedicated to supplying all Kentuckians with a comprehensive and dynamic collection of information resources. To get started, contact the Perry County Public library for login information.
World Book – A powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedia articles, multimedia, and primary source documents, including treaties, constitutions, diaries and other first person narratives, U.S. Presidential papers, and more.
MyHeritage Library Edition – MyHeritage Library Edition is one of the largest, most internationally diverse genealogy databases of its kind in the world. It includes billions of historical documents from over 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources. Available in 40 languages, MyHeritage Library Edition is the industry’s most multilingual family history research database.
Reference Solutions – The premier source for business and residential information for reference and research.
The Perry County Public Library is pleased to offer Ancestry to our patrons. Ancestry gives you access to the world’s largest online history resource: billions of records with access to Family History, Family Trees, Genealogy Research, and Records Search. Ancestry is only available on the computers in the genealogy room at the Perry County Public Library.
Chilton Library – This database delivers reliable automotive help online 24/7 through ChiltonLibrary, trusted by automotive enthusiasts and professionals for more than 100 years.
HeritageHub – Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. HeritageHub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images. Access is available 24/7.
|Legal Forms – Thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.|
Fold 3 – features premier collections of original military records. These records include the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served in the military. Many of the records come from the U.S. National archives, The National Archives of the U.K. and other international records.
World Book KIDS – Provides elementary-aged users with stunning image-driven navigation to thousands of easy-to-read articles, videos, maps and a wealth of engaging games, activities and projects.
Integrated with World Book KIDS, EEH – Provides highly visual articles that are written in Spanish at an easier reading level. Hands-on learning activities and projects.
World Book STUDENT – Provides tens of thousands of encyclopedia articles featuring high-interest, readable content. Translation tool with 100+ languages. Biography Center with more than 10,000 biographies of historical and contemporary figures. My Research offers individualized accounts that allow users to save and share their research.
World Book ADVANCED – Provides advanced research tools including Primary Source Documents, World Newspapers, Special Reports, Back in Time articles – all which enhance thousands of encyclopedia articles.
World Book eBOOKS COLLECTION: OVER 2,600 TITLES including STORY BOOKS, PICTURE BOOKS, GRAPHIC NOVELS & CHAPTER BOOKS spanning all reading levels and only available from Videos, games WORLD BOOK! and quizzes are included on many titles with READ-ALOUD OPTIONS for pre and emerging readers. Also included are thousands of classics – essays, novels, collections of poetry and more. This entire collection is available 24/7 to multiple users, simultaneously!
World Book TIMELINES – is a growing collection of 650+ unique Timelines, spanning the arts, science & technology, society & culture, sports, world history & geography and more. Create, customize, collaborate, and share your timelines. Great for visual learners to put events into context and for classroom instruction to introduce a subject.
World Book DISCOVER – Assist differentiated learners and older adults with a research database that offers a practical Life Skills section. A collection of unique videos, featuring expert answers to often asked questions, and a visual dictionary make content more accessible for readers of all levels.
Science Power – Strengthen students’ science knowledge with more than 90 lessons complete with experiments and assessments to gauge students’ capabilities across two levels of science instruction. Ideal for grades 2 through 6, Science Power empowers students to take control of their own learning process.
Dramatic Learning – Promote independent learning and group collaboration with the production of classic and contemporary plays. With activities tied to cross-curricular instruction, Dramatic Learning includes mini-inquiry projects, self-assessment tools, and teaching tools to facilitate instruction.
Social Studies Power – Enhance social studies instruction with more than 100 lessons, activities, and assessments focused on core topics and aligned with most major textbooks. Social Studies Power is intended for grades 3 through 6 and offers two reading levels per lesson for differentiated instruction.
L’Encyclopédie Découverte – A full-featured, beginner-level reference source, Découverte provides users with a database written at basic French reading levels. Seamlessly integrates with World Book Kids for parallel English-language content.
Early Learning by World Book – Emergent learners will engage in an interactive and playful environment of topical content worlds with bursts of information to support microlearning. Guided reading program with stories spread across Lexile Levels provide building blocks for early learners. Read-aloud option across all functions of the database promotes a personalized learning experience.
Kids eLearn – A first-of-its-kind Arabic-language reference site developed specifically for primary students. eLearn ignites curiosity through an easy-to-follow layout, hands-on activities, world maps, customizable country resources, educational games, videos, and pictures.